Beef Week

Yesterday, I spent the day walking around Beef Week that is currently in Rockhampton. To find out more click on this link to the Beef week website. This is a large ag show that happens each year to look at beef beef and more beef. But while walking around the stalls I was amazed at how much the beef industry has changed over my lifetime because of technology.

Yards are now safer and some can be controlled through a tiny little push button panel. (I don’t know whether many of you have gotten between a cow and its only calf but it is not fun and you literately see your life pass between you eyes.) So technology has benefited greatly to make this industry safer.

I also saw how the feeding of cattle has improved through fodder solutions found here.

From my wanderings yesterday I saw a lot of technology within an industry that a lot of my students are going to be passionate about, and I feel as a teacher I need to have some knowledge of these things to communicate and connect with them and I also feel that because of my context there is a great deal of learning to be had at such an event.

Liz

Leave a comment